Canine companion

11 Oct

A dog is the only thing on this earth that loves you more than he loves himself.

Josh Billings (Henry Wheeler Shaw)

DSCN0852

I’d like to introduce you all to Dexter, the newest addition to our little family. Dex is a 1-year-old Labrador retriever mix with a beautiful, rich black coat and a curly tail. He likes to chase squirrels and lay on his people in bed.

DSCN0838 (Did you notice the black spots on his tongue?)

I ventured home to Wisconsin this weekend to attend a wedding and and to search for a dog. My mom and I went to the Wisconsin Humane Society in Milwaukee on Saturday morning to look at the dogs available for adoption. Dex was one of the first pooches we spotted and the first one we asked an adoption counselor to show us.

Dex and I got along famously right off the bat. He first sniffed my hand but soon was sprawled out on the floor for belly rubs. I was so impressed with how well behaved he was, how quiet and mellow he was yet how excited and energetic he was. He seemed to be everything I was looking for and more.

My mom and stepdad dog-sat for me while I went to a wedding Saturday night. He got a chance to play with the Great Danes and run around a fenced-in yard and use stairs and curl up on the couch. My dad and I went out for breakfast Sunday morning, too, and he got a chance to take a walk around a city block.

DSCN0842

DSCN0846

I brought Dex home and introduced him to Christopher and the cats. Dex didn’t really know what to make of the cats, and the cats didn’t really know what to make of the dog. The cats hid for a while, but they came out later and prowled around to try and figure out what was happening to their home. Dex was curious, too, and wanted to approach Zak while he was laying under the table, but Zak arched his back and made his hair stand on end, and Dex was intimidated. (They tried again today and seem to be coming around on each other.)

We went to bed at normal time and invited the pooch up with us. He was a bit fitful in the night, partly because he slept for hours during the car ride home and partly because he was so antsy about the cats under the bed or on the dresser. Christopher and I didn’t sleep very well, but I think that will get better as Dex gets more accustomed to his new home.

DSCN0854

I got home from work this afternoon and took Dex outside. He still hasn’t gone potty, but I’m thinking it’s because he hasn’t had a lot to eat or drink and isn’t sure what to do out there. He hasn’t gone in the apartment, which is good, but he needs to go soon! I changed clothes, and we headed out again for a quick run – just 1 mile in the neighborhood. Dex was awesome on the leash, except pulling me really hard once to go after a squirrel, and I was tired out from running a little faster than I’m used to.

It’s so nice to have a dog in the house. It’s so nice to see his tail wagging when I come home from work. It’s so nice to have him to curl up on the couch with when I’m home alone.

I don’t think Christopher and I could have gotten any luckier…

DSCN0851

9 Responses to “Canine companion”

  1. Karin (mom) Herd October 11, 2010 at 6:03 pm #

    AAAAWWWWWW!

  2. Karin (mom) Herd October 11, 2010 at 6:37 pm #

    I forgot to mention that I love the picture of Christopher with Dex. He looks happy!

  3. polleydan October 11, 2010 at 11:01 pm #

    Having a dog is such a great experience. Congrats!

  4. kaylabee18 October 12, 2010 at 3:11 pm #

    I love that picture, too, Mom. 🙂

  5. kaylabee18 October 12, 2010 at 3:12 pm #

    Thanks, Dan. I’m so excited we have one in our life now.

  6. Joslyn @ missfitbliss October 12, 2010 at 5:21 pm #

    What a wonderful pooch! I got my dog, Clint, from the Atlanta Humane Society 9 years ago. Best decision ever. I love that dog like a child (not that I have kids yet, but still) and I’m so glad I chose him;)

    Dexter looks like a real winner. Beautiful and well-behaved – I think you’re right you guys got pretty lucky!

    • kaylabee18 October 12, 2010 at 5:25 pm #

      Aww! What kind of dog is Clint? I have always loved my pets like family members…

      Dex is such a good boy. He’s amazing me more and more each day. We couldn’t be luckier!

  7. Bride Anne October 13, 2010 at 12:18 am #

    CONGRATS! We rescued a 1 year old white German shepherd / corgi back in June. It’s been rather trying (like when she gets diarrhea and has to go out every hour from 2am-12pm), but so rewarding.

    • kaylabee18 October 14, 2010 at 12:48 pm #

      Aww. Sounds like a cutie. Yes, it’s trying sometimes, but I agree, so rewarding. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

