13 weeks

25 Feb

Written Friday, Feb. 22, 2013

Peach fetuses

How Big are the Babies?

My sources say the babies are as long as shrimp, about 3 inches head to bum, and as big as peaches this week, about an ounce.

Their heartbeats have dropped just a bit, from 175 and 171 at the first few appointments to 169 and 164 on Tuesday.

How I’m Changing

I made it to the second trimester!

I still don’t think I’m really showing – maybe just a little bit – but I finally gained a little weight and no longer can “suck in” my belly much. I still had a few bouts of sickness this week, too, but I finally think it has passed.

I struggled with some lower back and hip pain this week, and I have had very, very tender and sore shoulders lately. I don’t know whether they’re pregnancy related or not, but I can’t help but think they are.

What I’m Eating

My regular appetite seems to have returned as the sickness has departed.

Cereal and milk, yogurt and fruit still are staples, and comfort foods still are the most desirable meals.

Club soda made an appearance this week, and I downed a 2-liter bottle in two days.

What I’m Thinking

I’m still focused on life after babies.

Christopher and I have been house hunting, mostly online, trying to find a place that will meet our needs, allow us to own something and build equity and hopefully save a little money every month. We have a pretty extensive list and know what we want, we just need to go see the places in person.

We also have talked a lot about the work-parenting situation, and while we have a lot of research to do, we are leaning very much toward me becoming a stay-at-home mom and freelancing as soon as I feel capable and as much as I can handle. We know we can’t survive on one paycheck, but we believe the money generated from freelancing (and the savings garnered from a lower house payment) would give us enough cushion to not freak out with every bill.

Peach profile

  • Weight gained: 1-1.5 lbs.

  • Workouts: Three– one 2.5-mile treadmill run/walk; two workout videos; and one marathon cleaning session.

  • Food aversions: None, really.

  • Food cravings: Cheerios and milk. Blackberries and strawberries. String cheese. Jimmy John’s.

  • Baby items purchased: Still none.

  • Maternity items purchased: The book “Baby Bargains” and two prenatal workout DVDs.

  • Houses scouted online: Dozens.

  • Next prenatal appointment: Tuesday, March 12, 15 1/2 weeks.

2 Responses to “13 weeks”

  1. knunez313 February 25, 2013 at 11:08 pm #

    Twins! How exciting! Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 377 other followers

