Race recap: Famous Racing Sausages 5K

31 Jul

What do you get when you mix baseball, running and sausages?

20120728_090710

The Famous Racing Sausages 5K, presented by the Milwaukee Brewers and the Klement’s Racing Sausages, a race that takes participants around and through Miller Park.

Sausage Race map

We arrived about 7:30 a.m. with just enough time to meet up with our friends, John and Becky, pin on our bibs and snap a few pre-race pictures.

20120728_074731

We made our way to the starting line and sidled up alongside the middle of the pack. We listened to the celebrity starter, Brewers third-base coach Ed Sedar, and were off on his count of “on your mark, get set, go!”

The course wound around the tailgating parking lots, down the first-base line, across home plate, down the third-base line and over the bridge from the parking lots to the stadium. It was a really flat, fast course, but it offered little cover from the beating sun.

I felt great through the whole race! I missed the first water stop just past the 1-mile mark but stopped at the second stop just after the 2-mile mark. I even high-fived Brett Wurst, the bratwurst, somewhere between 1 and 2 miles. I hit 1 mile at less than 9 minutes and 2 miles at less than 18 minutes; I was flying, and I had a hunch a PR could be within my grasp.

I approached the 3-mile mark and the bridge that goes from the parking lots to the stadium. I knew I was close to the finish. More and more spectators lined the course and cheered. Volunteers directed runners. I floored it, passing Christopher, passing the Miller Lite Diamond Dancers  and crossing at a little more than 29 minutes.

Whew. I actually beat two of the sausages, which legend has it is very hard to do.

Christopher and I met up and watched Becky cross the finish line, and all three of us watched John finish his first race ever! We made our way to the post-race tailgate party, which included complimentary water, Miller Lite and hot dogs. Only in Milwaukee…

20120728_092022

IMG_20120728_091202

We hung around for a while, basking in our post-race glow, downing some grub and some suds and catching up with each other.

20120728_092210

20120728_090716

We moved our get-together to Café Hollander to celebrate.

IMG_20120728_102249

(The Beer Mosa, fresh-squeezed orange juice and the house High-Speed Wit beer.)

20120728_104424

(The Green Torpedo Omelet, three eggs with fresh spinach and basil and feta and goat cheeses with Hollander potatoes and toast.)

We loved this race! Christopher and I had a great time and would absolutely do it again. The organizers did a great job. (Participants get not only a well-run race but a sweet T-shirt and a voucher for a ticket to a select game.) It’s no wonder the race draws 4,000 runners and walkers and sells out year after year.

Last but not least, the goods:

Distance: 3.1 miles
Duration: 29:01 chip time (29:12 Nike+ time)
Average pace: 9:21 per mile

10 Responses to “Race recap: Famous Racing Sausages 5K”

  1. Shannon July 31, 2012 at 9:05 pm #

    Sounds like you had a great race! Looks like fun! Although I have to say I am having a hard time wrapping my brain around the beer mosa. That being said, I would certainly try one! :)

    • kaylabee18 August 2, 2012 at 1:34 pm #

      I did have a great race. It was a lot of fun. And trust me on the beermosa: If you use a light, effervescent beer, like Miller High Life, even, it tastes strangely close to a regular mimosa. Try it!

  2. Blogging Runner July 31, 2012 at 9:29 pm #

    What a fun race! Great time!

  3. Karin (mom) Herd July 31, 2012 at 9:33 pm #

    WTG, everyone and especially John!

    • kaylabee18 August 2, 2012 at 1:33 pm #

      We had a great time — and we’re really proud of John! I hope that wasn’t the last race he ever does…

  4. Ruth August 2, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

    Wow Girl you and the Hubby are really knocking these races out!! Congrats on the time and especially beating two Sausages. Right only in WI~!!!

    • kaylabee18 August 2, 2012 at 1:32 pm #

      Thanks, Ruth! I’m pretty proud of us. We gotta kick ‘em out of the park before the racing season ends and we settle down for the fall. What a fun race and a fun concept, right? I love my home state!

  5. Julie @SavvyEats August 3, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

    Neither Dan nor I are runners, but we would do this just for the Miller Park + racing sausages, I think!

    • kaylabee18 August 3, 2012 at 3:50 pm #

      You don’t have to be! You can walk it. It’s totally fun and totally worth it. Super unique and fun. Do it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 380 other followers

