Straight talk

13 Nov

I need to get something off my chest.

I’m bored with my blog. I love it; It’s my baby, and I birthed it, fed it and raised it to be what it is today. I’m mostly proud of it. But I’m not over-the-moon excited about it these days.

I let myself get too caught up in trying to make it something it’s not. I read so many other amazing blogs and have “met” so many other talented people, and I guess I got jealous watching their blogs flourish, watching them do awesome things and share it with the world and watching others go gaga for their words and photographs.

I thought I would try something new. I thought I would blog more frequently. I thought I would show you what I eat on a day-to-day basis, what I do to work out every day. I thought I would share with you my goals each week. But I’ve learned that that’s not me.

I read this post—10 Real-Talk Blog Tips—from Joy the Baker this morning, and I realized I need a change, a fresh start, a new lease on blog life.

But I need some input.

First, my thoughts:

  • I want my blog to focus mainly on food and fitness with a healthy sprinkling of my other adventures, just as it does now.
  • I’m not a recipe developer extraordinaire. I can do a little here and there, but I can’t do it all the freaking time because I’m just not that good at it. I’m inevitably going to make recipes by other people and and want to share them with you. (Example: I am making no-knead bread via the New York Times recipe from a few years ago. I could have photographed each step and shared my experience in a post.)
  • I want to have some weekly or semiweekly features, such as a seasonal or secret ingredient challenge in which I pick a seasonal or special ingredient and come up with or try out a couple recipes that prominently feature it.

Second, my requests:

  • What do you want to read?
  • What name would you suggest for my blog?

I hope you’ll stick with me through these growing pains. I really want to make my blog a place I like hanging out and a place you like hanging out. I want it to be a place where we can shoot the breeze about food and about life.

I plan to take a little time off to digest and hope to return refreshed and renewed in a couple weeks.

Talk to you soon!

4 Responses to “Straight talk”

  1. jane November 13, 2011 at 1:45 pm #

    Hi Kayla! I’ve been reading your blog for a while, but never commented … (Sorry!) I totally agree with you — your blog needs to be what you want it. If you don’t enjoy it, what’s the fun with that? I finally just decided what I want mine to be, and I am having so much more fun with it! I say take your time and decide what you want it to be. Let me know if you do change it, and I will definitely follow you!

  2. Karin (mom) Herd November 13, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

    I enjoy reading anything you write on your blog because it keeps me in touch with you. I cannot be there so this is the next best thing. As for revamping it, I’m a great sounding board for your ideas. Love you!!!

  3. Mindy November 15, 2011 at 11:33 am #

    When I got in a slump awhile back, what really helped me was looking back through my posts and remembering which ones I enjoyed writing the most. Beyond that, which ones were the most helpful to me on my life journey. Yeah, it’s awesome if other people read what I have to say, but at the end of the day, MY blog is for ME and it needs to be something that feeds my soul, helps me grow in life.

    As for you, I want to hear about your life in IL! Your new freelance job, what you and Christopher are doing for fun, etc. Take some time off, do some reflecting. You’ll figure it out. :)

  4. Ruth November 17, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

    I love reading your blog so I hope you don’t stop. Your food ideas are awesome and I love the photos. I know how to cook but for a lot of ppl the step by step is great. If you feel like making a change then go for it. I am sure you can only make a good thing better!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 388 other followers

